Is there an event I can listen to when a document is shared with a user or a group?

Hey team!

Background: I’m very new to XWiki, found it amazing because of it’s extendability and a great plugin ecosystem. I have been given a usecase which involves synchronizing the access of a particular user for a 3rd party hosted document(Google docs for example) which might be mentioned as a link in an XWiki wiki. If a user has an access to that particular wiki, then the links mentioned in that particular wiki should be accessible when a user opens it. We’re going to make it an option rather than a default for security purposes.

Question: Is there a way I can listen to an event which might be triggered when a user shares a particular xwiki document with a group/user?, I’m wondering if a DocumentUpdatedEvent is fired in such a scenario, if yes, would I have to compare the list of users who have access to it from the prior document version and generate a new event? If not, is there an ActionExecutedEvent for such a thing?

Thanks,
Pratik

Hi,

which sharing capability of XWiki do you have in mind exactly? AFAIR there’s no “share with a user/group” action natively in XWiki but maybe you’re doing it in a custom way?

There’s a share page by email feature that allows sharing with users or groups. Maybe that’s the one?

Thanks for the reply @vmassol and @surli
I really thought Xwiki had the capability to restrict a group/user from viewing a particular wiki, have I got it wrong?, Because when I saw the fact that xwiki had user/groups I thought it would be possible. Is there an extension/plugin which has been built for the same?, sorry I discovered XWiki just recently and might have overlooked this.

Thanks,
Pratik.

No, that’s true: you can restrict viewing a particular wiki, but people has to know they should go to view your pages. I thought that you had in mind a particular mechanism to push people to go view the page.

So far my understanding of your scenario is that: