Panels Do Not Appear Upon Startup (new user)

Hello!

I’m very new to XWiki and doing my best to navigate some of the basics before diving into some of the development documentation. I was able to get a Tomcat 8, PostgreSQL setup of XWiki 10.10 started on my Ubuntu laptop (local instance of XWiki. Ubuntu 18.10). I went through the initial start up wizard, I’m able to create users, set permissions, create/edit pages. I downloaded a couple applications. However the panels section appears to be missing. Everything I see online makes it look like panels should appear automatically. I’m a little confused how to address this issue or where to start looking. Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you!

Image attached with names redacted.

XWiki%20No%20Panel%20Edited

Hi!

Check Page Layout at Global Administration: Panels:

The panels section doesn’t even show up under look and feel:

Global%20Admin

Yes, it should.

Can you explain how you installed XWiki? Maybe when you had the Distribution Wizard, you didn’t pick the Standard Flavor?

It’s as if you don’t have the “Panels UI” extension installed. Can you check if you have it? You need to use the Extension Manager UI for that, see https://extensions.xwiki.org/xwiki/bin/view/Extension/Extension%20Manager%20Application.

1 Like

My memory says that I installed the Standard Flavor.

Installing the Extension Manager Application certainly helped. I was able to properly install some of the packages/applications I had set up beforehand. As I search in my local extensions I see an extension: " XWiki Platform - Panels - API" but nothing that says Panels UI.

When I search for “UI” the only results that have “UI” in the title are:

• Core Extensions:
    • XWiki Platform - UI Extension Extension - API
    • jQuery UI
  • Installed Extensions:
    • XWiki Platform - Livetable - UI
    • XWiki Platform - UI Extension - UI
    • XWiki Platform - Sheet - UI

I’m assuming there should be something along the lines of: