Configuration issue on Tomcat

Hi!
I am fairly new to this and need to learn a bit about Java apps and their deployment, so please bear with me…

My hosting provider offers Tomcat deployment. I extracted the war-file and uploaded it to my domain. Inpatient as I was, I immediately asked to deploy - naturally it could not start.
The logging message however only stated several “SEVERE” issues, and they mainly all sounded like this:
05-Jan-2020 06:36:07.654 SEVERE [ajp-nio-8009-exec-66] org.apache.catalina.core.StandardHostValve.custom Custom error page [/WEB-INF/jsp/404.jsp] could not be dispatched correctly
The same thing for 401 ect.

I then proceeded to read the installation guide and I think I configured everything properly, I created a database and linked to it ect. Still the same kind of issue, no change in the error message too.

Where could the problem be?

Thanks for the help in advance,
Patrick

… just a shot in the dark: the war is uploaded as is and not extracted. Tomcat will deploy (extract) the war itself.

Or: https://xwiki.com/en/pricing/

Hi,

This error is not about XWiki AFAICS since XWiki doesn’t use any JSP :slight_smile:

It’s probably caused by some other WAR you have in your Tomcat’s webapp directory.

Thanks
-Vincent

Hi! thanks for the response - my hosting provider requires the war to be extracted.

WAR files

WAR files must be extracted in order to be deployed. E.g. the contents of test.war should be placed in a directory named test .

WAR stands for Web application ARchive .

also - thank you for your response.
I was also puzzled how it refers to a folder that doesn’t exist at all in the .war file. Problem is - this is my first webapp on this hosting provider - there are no other apps…

I will try to reach the service of the hosting provider and get back to you.

This is good and what is required by XWiki too! :slight_smile: See https://www.xwiki.org/xwiki/bin/view/Documentation/AdminGuide/Installation/